The respective leaders of the parties of the opposition – Photo: Facebook

Six parties set up committee for 2021 opposition primary

Delegates from six parties involved in opposition cooperation set up a committee for the 2021 opposition primary on Thursday.

The Democratic Coalition (DK), Jobbik, LMP, Momentum, Parbeszed and the Socialists said in a joint statement that their leaders had decided to organise an opposition primary election in 2021 and the party delegates formed the OEVB committee for this purpose.

The six parties agreed last week about the key issues of the primary. To reach the highest possible turnut, they also agreed to be open to “involving reliable and well-established partner NGOs in organising the event”, the statement said.

The Civil Election Committee (CVB) played an important role in organising primaries ahead the 2019 municipal elections and the six-party committee plans to rely on its experiences and special know-how, it said.

The opposition parties plan to hold a series of consultations with CVB and its member organisations about cooperation in the upcoming weeks, the statement added.

Leave a Reply