A plenary session of the European Parliament - Photo: europarl.europa.eu

Fifteen Hungarian MEPs take over their credentials

Fifteen of the 21 Hungarian MEPs who won mandates in the June 9 elections to sit in the next European Parliament were presented their letter of credentials in a formal ceremony in the office compound of parties near the Parliament on Monday.

Presenting the documents, Robert Sasvari, the head of the National Election Committee (NVB), noted that in the ballott, close to 4.6 million people had cast their votes with a turnout of almost 60 percent.

“MEPs play a key role in issues such as climate change, migration, human rights and the regulation of financial markets,” he said, noting that the mandate of Hungarian MEPs would run for five years.

Of the 11 MEPs representing the allied ruling Fidesz-Christian Democrats, Tamas Deutsch, Kinga Gal, Gyorgy Holvenyi, Pal Szekeres, Viktoria Ferenc, Annamaria Vicsek, Eniko Gyori, Andras Laszlo and Erno Schaller-Baross took over their credentials. Of the seven MEPs winning mandates of the newly emerged Respect and Freedom (Tisza) party Peter Magyar, the party’s deputy leader, as well Zoltan Tarr, Andras Kulja, Eszter Lakos and Gabriella Gerzsenyi received their documents, while Zsuzsanna Borvendeg, the single MEP winning a mandate for Mi Hazank, also took over her credentials.

MEPs Andras Gyurk and Balazs Gyorffy for Fidesz-KDNP, Dora David and Kinga Kollar for Tisza and Klara Dobrev and Csaba Molnar for DK-MSZP-Parbeszed-Greens will take over the credentials at a later time.

Leave a Reply